Sloan Court Apartments

Dan Sloan rents the apartments that are a living hell

I lived here for about 11 months and had to terminate the lease a month earlier. I wanted to leave after a month of shifting to the apartment, but the management made it real difficult for me and I had to stay there for almost a year.

I have not experienced such problems with any of the other rented houses, but this was more than worse. The apartments of Sloan court are not safe for living. The management makes it even more difficult. You will find people fighting in the common area at late night after getting drunk. This is very usual there. The company does not do background screening for its tenants and you can find people convicted for one or the other charges, living next to you.

There are black mould all over the common area and was not removed until the code enforcement was called. Dan has a habit of ignoring tenant’s requests. He does not care about their problems. There was no hot water for continuous 8 months. Everyone reported the problem a million times. However, he was too deaf to hear them.

The apartment that I stayed in had a problem with the fire place. The smoke used to back up in the apartment. When I tried to confront him, he was always unreachable. There were heights of ignorance which could have led to serious troubles. Once, the front lawn caught fire because of the bad wiring in the house. The windows with curtains were saved for just few inches.

When we shifted, Dan promised for free internet and Dish TV which were always out. He did not show any interest in getting that fixed. He always got a shortcut solution that was risky as well as short lived. The washing machine in the common area worked rarely and if worked, there used to be issues with either hot water or dryer. The wire from the machine went lying on the floor to the plug and was taped with duct tape. It was entirely unsafe.

While talking to the other tenants, I came to know that he charged them for AC repairing that was his responsibility. He also charged tenants for insect termination. There were cockroaches all over the apartment.

There was no lightening in the parking lot and the buggers keep hanging out in the common area. Few times, our neighbours called the police as well to tackle the situation. Dan was least interested in taking care of these issues.

I had to make him several calls and visited his office numerous times to terminate the lease, but could not reach him until I was 1 month away from the renewal. He did that purposefully and it was very frustrating. I was not able to stand for a month there. Somehow, I managed to be there for 11 months and then shifted.

Dan is a fraud and lies about everything. Once you shift in his apartment, he would become invisible to your requests.

The reviews, complaints and scams posted about Sloan Court Apartments is permanant record at https://realtorscam.com/reviews/sloan-court-apartments/ Search for all reviews, complaints and scams about Sloan Court Apartments

1 review

  1. Official Response

    Response to Unconscionable Slanderous Comments

    Response to Unconscionable Slanderous Comments

    It is not my style to put personal business out there on the internet, however in order to address the horribly slanderous comments posted anonymously by local Delray resident, “Private Investigator” Kim Hale, I have been given no alternative.

    Kim Hale was a disgruntled Tennant at Sloan Court Apartments who was unhappy with the fact that an outstanding balance on her account was deducted from her security deposit upon her vacating her apartment.

    Kim Hale was late in paying her rent, which incurred late fees as per her lease. She ignored subsequent invoicing for those fees during her lease term and therefore had an outstanding balance on her account at the termination of her lease. I have documentation of this (as well as copies of her canceled checks). If this site wishes to have accurate information regarding this matter, I would be happy to provide.

    It saddens me though that sites like this do not verify the information they post, while good honest people are hurt by these unverified slanderous comments.

    In addition to Kim Hale being unhappy with late fees being deducted from her security deposit for delinquent rent she was also pretty much unhappy with just about everything at Sloan Court … Makes you wonder why she would choose to move to such “horrible place”? … Or stay! … We offered to let her out of her lease a few times (I have documentation of this too)… we even gently suggested (via email) for her to leave so that she might be happier… but she still stayed, still complaining all the way up until the end of her lease at which time we gave her the required two month notice that we would not be interested in renewing a lease with her. She did leave one month early as she has stated, that is correct (11 months on a 12 month lease) to which both parties agreed (upon my suggestion).

    During her stay she complained about everything from her hot water heater, which was inspected immediately and had no problems (I do have documentation of this) … to faulty wiring, which turned out to be FPL street wires touching a tree branch (I have documentation of this as well). She complained to code enforcement of mold in the courtyard, for which, no mold was found by CE (I have documentation of this also). However we did have the courtyard patio pressure washed (outside of our regular pressure wash schedule) as suggested by CE just to appease her (but not required by CE). I can go on and on but I don’t want to sink to a lower level of pettiness than to what I feel both parties of this have already descended.

    Anyway, To be fair… I do acknowledge some accurate information that Kim Hale posted …There was an argument on the premises, which may or may not have been alcohol related (I don’t want to slander anyone else here as I do not really have all the facts). In any case, once we were made aware of the issue we were at the site immediately, and then immediately took care of the situation… We did apologize to Kim and all of our tenants for having to have experience that argument. … But as for everything else listed here… I do not know where it came from. I would especially like to know who were the two tenants who paid for new AC units. The cost of a new AC unit would be equal to an amount somewhere in between a third to a half of year’s rent for a tenant at Sloan Court?

    Obviously, if we have tenants (in Kim’s own words) staying with us for 10 plus years, it cannot possibly be the horrible picture that she has painted. It is sad though that one disgruntled person could post whatever they want in a forum like this without being questioned about the truth in what they are posting.

    If you would like to know our REAL Reputation, Please feel Free to Contact the Delray Beach Chamber of Commerce, the Downtown Development Authority or even the Mayor of Delray Beach, Mr. Glickstein…

Rate and write a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Southeast 7th Avenue 106
Delray Beach 33483 FL US
Get directions
Status :Published
Reported Loss :0 $
Location city :Delray Beach
Reported by : anonymous
Category : Company
Views :

32 views